TOBER's Blog
Traveling on 2 wheels with us old broads…

TURQUOISE TRAIL

Our plan was to start out about 8 this morning.  I think we all had a good nights sleep.  And Julie took advantage of the guest laundry at the motel and washed all of our jeans.  I was ok with that.

We  met a fellow rider at  breakfast.  She had left her husband at home and was making a Route 66 trek to Las Vegas from Michigan.  Her round trip was going to be about 4,000 miles.  We offered to let her fall in behind us to Albuquerque (that’s where we were cutting off).  Thought she was going to at first but she changed her mind.  We probably would have just slowed her down…haha!

You might want to mark this as the 2nd morning that I have called the temp wrong on our departure.  Mary was smarter than me this morning but Julianne fell right in there with me.  We left in short sleeves.  Before we got 10 miles down the road Mary was knocking on my helmet to find a place to stop for Julianne.  I’m glad we did too cause I went ahead and put on my jacket.  I don’t think the temp crept out of the 60’s for hours!

After our jacket stop, our next stop was Clines Corners.  Some HUGE tourist stop.  They had everything there.  But most importantly, they had hot coffee and hot chocolate!  We warmed up and pressed on.  Oh yeah, I almost forgot that J&P felt it necessary to present me with a prickly pear pop at this stop.   Guess they just wanted to make sure that I experienced the taste after all.

Don’t know how many of you have heard of the Turquose Trail.  I hadn’t until Julie and Phil did the research.  This was about a 5o mile 2 lane road from Albuquerque to Santa Fe.  Besides the fact that it was slow sweeping curves, it was speckled with all types of artisan shops…  from pottery, to turquoise, to art galleries.  And right there in the middle of the trail was Madrid.  Some of you may know it from “Wild Hogs”.   We just had to stop and have a sandwich and beer.  It was kinda like a Jefferson, TX… only up in the mountains.  Such fun!!

Then to Santa Fe Harley Davidson.  Mary and I were this close to a new tri-glide!  Watch out Diane…

We have bedded down for the night in Espanola, NM.  Once again it appears we have just beat the weather.  That’s ok with us!  No restaurant tonight.  We’ve already walked next door and bought a couple of beers, pork skins, peanuts and cornuts.   Ahhhhh… supper of TRUE bikers!!

Weather is looking a little threatening tomorrow, so the plan is to meet for breakfast at 8am and talk about it!  So glad we aren’t tethered to an itenerary!

7 Responses to “TURQUOISE TRAIL”

  1. Hey Girls,
    We look forward to these blogs and we had to look Espanola NM up in the atlas. If it Ain’t on the freeway, we probably haven’t been there!! We have been to Santa Fe from Albuquerque but no farther north from that point. Just read your blog to Bon and she said, “these blogs are fun”!! We are about to watch WNBA basketball on TV. Happy trails to you and be safe in your travels.

  2. Oh, you bet I know all about the Turquoise Trail…NOT!! If I didn’t know about the “GREAT RIVER ROAD” and I live on part of it!! Oh, well, we live and learn, I guess! Ha!

  3. Hi Everyone — I am enjoying reading your blog everyday. I wish you had bought you that trike. Be careful.

  4. Hey Becky, Sound’s like you are having a great trip and “YES” i would have loved to be with you(BUT I DIDNT GET MY PERMISSION SLIP GROM THEC BOSS)Take care and be extra safe, Neil

  5. Great article, I often take the trail up to Santa fe just to avoid the interstate drive. The air and scenery is wonderful.

  6. I’m so glad you are having such fun! Wish I was as foot loose and fancy free as you all seem to be. 🙂 I enjoy ‘seeing’ the trip through your eyes. Hugs to everyone. Love you and be CAREFUL! Mindy P.S. Today is Tiffany R.’s birthday in case you want to give her a call.

  7. WHAT? NO BLOG TODAY? DID IT RAIN ON THE COMPUTER, TOO?!! I GOT OUT OF BED AND CAME BACK IN HERE TO CHECK ON YOU GUYS BECAUSE I FORGOT TO DO IT EARLIER. BUSY DAY HERE. WILL CHECK ON YOU TOMORROW. HAPPY ROLLING!


Leave a Reply

