TOBER's Blog
Traveling on 2 wheels with us old broads…

BACK THE BUS UP…

About yesterday…  first, I will apologize for the blog mishap.  I’ll try not to let that happen again.  And secondly, I didn’t mean to worry anyone.  Guess I didn’t realize that folks were watching us that closely via the blog.

Not sure if I’ve told you just how popular the “dual sport” bikes are around here.  There were several at our motel in Ouray.  Talked with one of the guys and he offered an alternate route to Moab than what we had planned.  You know I’m game for most any ride but when he told us that he had ridden to Phoenix, AZ (that’s close to 2,000 miles!) and only rode on pavement less than 50 miles…  I drew the line!

As I said, we hit a full spectrum of weather yesterday.  Started out with the temp in the 40’s or 50’s.  Sun wasn’t up over the mountains yet, so it was pretty chilly.  Layer up again.  After fueling in Ridgway we took the San Juan Scenic Skyway to Telluride.

Julie and Phil have skied there several times and were anxious to see how it looked thawed out.  We parked the bikes and took the gondola across the mountain.  J&P narrated the ride with highlights about how deep the snow was, how many kids taunted Phil, etc.    It was a  beautiful ride up and over the mountain.

When we got back to Telluride, Julie sniffed out her favorite bakery.  I don’t think I’ve ever seen a loaf of bread so long.  How was she going to pack it on the bike?

Leaving Telluride/Keystone was yet another great ride!  The pucker factor on this one was a mere 6.5.  That’s ok, it gave me a chance to enjoy it even more.

Running into rain around Rico forced us to pull over and suit up.  Of course, as we pulled over, another rider coming from the other direction did the same.  Not quite sure why we continued to put our suits on after hearing him say that the rain had just started on him.  But we did…  and it quit raining.  And where was Julie’s bread in all this?

Lunch in Dolores, Co before we turned west.  “Trail of the Ancients” into Utah.  North at Monticello.  Passing Church Rock, Looking Glass Rock and Hole ‘n the Rock.  Stopped at the state line for the obligatory photo opp. Before we rode into the Utah desert, we were treated to lush green farmland.   On to Moab for the night.

Not sure if it was the drastic temperature changes or what… but I was whooped yesterday.  That’s why there was no blog.

This morning was nice and warm.  No layers… short sleeve t-shirt.  Stopped at the parts store to pick up some octane booster since we haven’t seen anything over 91 octane since we left Texas.  Phil was feeling a bit sluggish on the hills and this seemed to do the trick.

If you ever have the chance to visit Arches National Park, we will highly recommend it.  You just cannot imagine the beauty.  The sandstone rock formations were like nothing I have ever seen before.  And we got TONS of pictures.  This was so amazing that we spent almost 3 hours driving through the park.

From The Arches we went northwest to Price and across the mountain pass toward Vernal.  My gps kept telling me that it was “haze”… not rain clouds.  It lied!  And besides the rain, do you know how much the temperature drops as you’re climbing to 10,000 feet?!?  Well I’ll tell you that it’s quite a bit.  I lost Julie and Phil behind me as they pulled over first to suit up.  Mary and I had pulled over to put on our suits when they pulled in behind us.  Now I don’t particularly like all the rain garb but if I’m going to all the trouble to put it on… I want to “need” it for a while.  And we did!

The Harley shop in Vernal was a disappointment.  And Mary can’t quite figure out why (since we are out west) that folks don’t know how to cook a steak.  But Main Street in Vernal was pretty with all it’s flowers.  And LOTS of flowers.  They have a city truck  that drives down the street watering them twice a day.  It shows.

Tucking myself in for the night.  Hope I am  back in your good graces.  Wonder where Julie’s bread is????

One Response to “BACK THE BUS UP…”

  1. RIGHT ON GIRLS!! I STAYED AWAKE LATE ENOUGH TO CATCH THE BLOG TONIGHT AND AM HAPPY TO KNOW THAT ALL OF YOU ARE ALIVE AND WELL AND APPARENTLY HAVING A BALL. BUSY DAY HERE WITH PAINTERS, LANDSCAPE ESTIMATES (YOU DON’T EVEN WANT TO KNOW!!) CANNING TOMATOES, BAKING ZUCCHINI BREAD, RUNNING ERRANDS. NOT NEARLY AS MUCH FUN AS YOU GUYS ARE HAVING BUT KEEPS US OUT OF TROUBLE. WE WILL LOOK FORWARD TO YOUR NEXT ENTRY BUT I WANT TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENED TO THAT DAMNED LOAF OF BREAD!!!


Leave a Reply

